Innocent Bones

Innocent Bones cover

I’ve made a few music compilations for my friend Moya. This one was a bit different in how it came about. Moya works at SAP and managed creating the It Gets Better: SAP Employees video. Read the story about the video. The soundtrack for the video is a song called “My Shoes (For Jeffrey)” by Adam McChane & Pamela Martin. The Jeffrey in the title is Jeffrey Fehr, an out gay youth who endured years of teasing and bullying and who took his own life on January 1, 2012. He was also the son of an SAP employee. Moya e-mailed me the song, saying something along the lines of, “maybe it will make it on a compilation one day.” I took it as a point of inspiration; I ended up calling the compilation Innocent Bones and the tracklist and a streaming link appear below. Some of the songs obviously reflect the original inspiration for the compilation, but I was more going for mood than lyrical content. I think the overall feel of the compilation is beautiful, earnest, and melancholy, with notes of hopefulness.

Here is the It Gets Better video:

Click the links below to stream the compilation; the songlist follows.

Part one (tracks 1-11):

Part two (tracks 12-21):

1. Neil Halstead “Cloudbusting”
2. Iron & Wine “Innocent Bones”
3. Vetiver “Road To Ronderlin”
4. Wilco “I am Trying to Break Your Heart (alternate version)”
5. John Cale “Sylvia Said”
6. José González “Heartbeats”
7. Kings Of Convenience “I Don’t Know What I Can Save You From”
8. Magnetic Fields “Plant White Roses”
9. Annie Hayden “Gray”
10. Everything But The Girl “The Only Living Boy in New York”
11. Little Scream “The Heron and the Fox”
12. The Mountain Goats “1 John 4:16”
13. Bill Callahan “Night”
14. Adam McChane & Pamela Martin “My Shoes (For Jeffrey)”
15. Spiritualized “Lay It Down Slow”
16. Brian Eno “By this River”
17. El Perro Del Mar “Someday I’ll Understand (Love Will Be My Mirror)”
18. Jenny Owen Youngs “Have You Forgotten”
19. Bowerbirds “Overcome With Light”
20. Fruit Bats “Spelled in Bones”
21. Jens Lekman “Another Sweet Summer’s Night on Hammer Hill”

For Moya on her birthday, January 2013.

Send me a message (or complete the form on this page) for more information.

And here are a few videos with songs from the compilation:

Everything But The Girl “The Only Living Boy in New York”:

Spiritualized “Lay It Down Slow”:

Bowerbirds “Overcome With Light”:

1 Response to Innocent Bones

  1. moyawatson says:

    This is the highest honor. Deep gratitude for this meaningful and reassuring compilation. It somehow reminds me to take a deep breath. A good thing.

    And wow — what a wondrous video from Everything But The Girl in their rendition above! Strange and freaky! EBTG at their very level best.


Feel free to comment!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s